south drive in market south flea market columbus flea market
Vendor Information


1. What do I do when I get there?

We don’t reserve spaces so pay for your space at the ticket office and take your pick of any of the spaces between two speaker posts on the front lot. The space between two speaker posts defines one space. Please set up facing the right direction so that we can have uniformity. You will see signs with arrows pointing the correct direction for each row. If you set up in the grass instead of the ramp area, restrict yourself to a similar size space as in the ramp area.

south drive in sign2. What do I need to bring?

A folding table would be nice. But if you don’t have room in your vehicle for a table, you might want to bring some blankets to spread on the ground. You can also display on the hood of your car. You should also bring some money to make change. Also, to avoid loose paper flying around, please bring a plastic trash bag and put all your packaging in it.

3. How much does the dealer ticket cost?

If you are a registered dealer, it is $10 on Saturday and Sunday, and $5 on Wednesday. You can become a registered dealer by applying for an ID (Click here to register). Or you can print this form and either A) Fill it in and bring with you, or B) Fill it in, and mail it to the address on the form. The ID card will be mailed to you in approximately 7 business days. If you don't have the ID, you will pay an extra $3 each time you come. Having an ID card will save you time and money.

4. What time should I get there?

As early as possible, but no later than 7:30. We do have reduced seller tickets after 9:00 in case you can’t get there early and still want to give it a try. After 9:00 tickets are $7.

5. Do I need a vendor license?

Ohio law requires a vendor license to sell at a "flea market" even if the sales are non-taxable like selling produce or your own personal items. You may think you are just here for one day to sell a few things, but you will probably get the flea market bug and want to get into buying and selling, so we highly recommend that you apply for a vendor license. In our opinion, having a vendor license is as automatic as having a social security number. We have the transient vendor license applications at South, or you can go here and enter ST-1T for the form. You can submit it online, or you can mail it in, or if you are in a hurry, you can go to the State offices at 4485 Northland Ridge Blvd, Columbus, Ohio 43229. The license will cost $25, and there is no annual renewal fee. You will have to fill out a form every six months and send your sales tax collections in to the State. Remember that with a vendor’s license, you can buy items for resale without paying the sales tax, saving nearly 7.5%.

6. How much inventory do I need?

The more you have, the more you will sell.

7. Where can I find products?

You can get a lot of stuff cheap at the end of a yard sale. Also check out yard sales in low-traffic locations. One of the best sources of merchandise is at the flea market. Buy in quantity and resell in individual pieces. Offer to buy everything that someone has left. Make low-ball offers on slow-moving merchandise that you can eventually sell for a much higher price when the right person comes along. Search online like CraigsList for good prices and liquidated merchandise. Also, look for exceptional deals at discount and bargain stores and buy a large quantity.

8. What can’t I sell?

You can’t sell any merchandise which may be stolen. State law requires that you need to be able to show receipts for new merchandise, and for used merchandise you need a comprehensive log of who you bought it from. No counterfeit merchandise such as movie DVDs and designer handbags, or athletic shoes are allowed to be sold. The sale of food items is limited to candy, chips, and food to be taken home. Home-canned foods, home-baked goods, and other home-prepared foods need to be properly labeled and prepared foods need to have been cooked or baked in a licensed kitchen. We do not permit the sale of live animals, guns, fireworks, or ammunition.

9. What can I leave behind?

You need to take your unsold items with you. Our dumpsters are only for trash such as empty boxes and packing materials. If you don’t want to take it home, try to sell it to another dealer. If not, hopefully, you can sell it next time. Please put any trash you have in one of our dumpsters or trash drums. Do not leave behind tires or put them in the dumpsters. These are expensive to get rid of and take special handling.

facebook youtube
westland flea market
drive in movie schedule